Why reading will cost me an extra $350 this year…

A regular book I probably won't read. An e-book I probably won't read.

 

I think I convinced myself to buy the Kindle 2. Although I haven’t actually ordered it yet, my mind is pretty much made up to do so. Here’s some free market research for Amazon, on how a 31 year old male sees the Kindle 2….

Buying Con’s: 

It costs about the same as 359 tacos. Somewhere between one hundred and one-fifty, my impulse buying reflex goes soft. Anything above that price range, becomes a questionable purchase. Questionable, not impossible. Or even unlikely. 

Buying Pro’s:  

In the last 3 weeks, I have…

  • Started the book Jumper (the book they based that stupid movie on about the kid who can teleport everywhere). Made it halfway through, and now I can’t find the book. Its just gone. Seriously.
  • Dropped the book Appaloosa in the bathtub. The pages are gross now and turning them is annoying.
  • Was ridiculed for reading the book Resolution because it “has as many words as a movie script”, 
  • Another anonymous family member, that I am married to, teased me for “actually finishing a book”, which of course “wouldn’t have been possible if the book had more words”. 
  • Uncovered the El Dorado of  half-read books. Turns out they were all in a closet which I didn’t know had a book shelf. A book shelf dedicated to books that hate me. 

Now here’s Amazon’s list of reasons to buy. In italics, I’ll add my two cents…

Slim & Lightweight: Just over 1/3 inch and 10.2 ounces .  

Okay that is cool. Pencils are thicker. 

Books in under 60 seconds: Get books delivered in less than 60 seconds; no PC required.

 Anything wireless is cool. 

Improved Display: Reads like real paper; now boasts 16 shades of gray for crisp images and text; even reads well in bright sunlight.

I bet 32 shades will be next. Then 64.

Longer Battery Life: 25% longer battery life; read for days without recharging.  

So at my pace, a year or two on one charge

More Storage: Take your library with you; holds over 1,500 books.

HAHAHA, you wish, Amazon. (1500 times $9.99 a book. )

Faster Page Turns: 20% faster page turns.  

If I had a Kindle 1, and page turning angered me, I don’t know if 20% faster is really selling me

Read-to-Me: Text-to-Speech feature means Kindle can read every book, blog, magazine, and newspaper out loud.  

This will be awesome until my internal monologue starts speaking in the same text-to-speech voice

No Wireless Bills: No monthly wireless bills, data plans, or commitments. Amazon pays for Kindle’s wireless connectivity so you won’t see a monthly wireless bill.

What about my current wireless bill? You sayin’ I won’t see that anymore?  Kidding. That is cool. 

Large Selection: Over 230,000 books, plus U.S. and international newspapers, magazines and blogs available.  

Blogs, really? Okay that is awesome.

Low Book Prices: New York Times Best Sellers and New Releases $9.99, unless marked otherwise

Ehhh, lets not go crazy and call that low. When I think of cheap books, I think of armfuls or boxes of them for $9.99. But for new books, thats pretty good. 


Okay this isn’t a tech review blog, nor is this even a review, so I’ll wrap up. I just like taking notes on why 30 year old men buy things. I probably am my average customer.

3 thoughts on “Why reading will cost me an extra $350 this year…

  1. aagghh says:

    I wonder how the readability is? I mean if I read to much on my computer screen my eyes start to hurt.

    I probably can’t use that in Japan huh?

  2. Justin says:

    The readability is awesome. Looks just like a paperback. Its nothing like your computer monitor. Some kind of digital ink.

    If you drop it in the bath though, there’s a good chance you’ll travel back in time.

Leave a Reply

