Eep! The Animate Pro pre-order is close to expired…

Oops. I probably should have mentioned this sooner, Toon Boom is offering $1100 off the price of Animate Pro but for only another 24-48 hours. This is an awesome program. I’ve had a chance to use it already and tinkered with some of the 3D camera and object aspects, and was very impressed. So much so actually, that I had a kind of upper-downer moment where I sat around thinking I’ve been out of college for close to 10 years now and haven’t done any serious short animation. Should I have won an Oscar by now. Probably not. Should I have done ANYTHING by now. Probably definitely. That was the downer. The upper was that now that I’ve got some kick-ass animation software, its actually kicked me in the ass and I’ve already started story boarding something I want to produce in Animate Pro.

So think on it!

Animate Pro Preorder

7 thoughts on “Eep! The Animate Pro pre-order is close to expired…

  1. I relate to that feeling of being around animation software for a while and not animating one complete short in a long time. Once you do, it’s going to turn out great, I’m sure. Great blog!

  2. Brad says:

    I thought it was 1100 off the regular price too so I bought the software. Now it seems they changed the regular price from 2999 to 1999. The actual savings then was only a couple hundred. I’m still glad I bought the software, I just thought I was saving more than I really was.

    High Five!

  3. Daniel says:

    Can totally relate to the feeling of being around animation software for 10 years and not making a single solid cohesive film that I can be proud of – just a few short clips but nothing with a story.
    I started with 3d programs, but it just felt like I was moving geometry around instead of making my drawings come to life.
    When I found Animate Pro I finally thought i’d found a program I could get excited about, one where the technology doesn’t own you, and where things work logically and aren’t tied up in a bunch of nerdy jargon.
    I’m writing scripts, then I’m planning to produce a test sequence, then storyboard the entire film in storyboard pro.
    In 2012 I’m planning to dive into a one year animation course, but to have most of the ground work, character design and background design sorted out in the year and a half before I start so I can just focus on animating for the year. In the meantime, save a shitload of money.
    It’s something I really want to get out of the way before I have children, because otherwise I think I’ll never have time to do it and i’ll be regretting it for the rest of my life. I’m finally starting to get serious about things.

  4. Good idea Dan about holding off on the kids before then. They are awesome but will put a hold on a major project like that. So you’re looking at 2013 to be done. Thats a long way off. I bet you could do something epic in half the time.

Leave a Reply

