Animated Stills Tutorial Preview

I’m pretty happy with how this Animated Stills lesson finished up.  If anyone remembers from like, er, 3 months ago I was talking about finding a nice matte painting to animate. Well here’s how it turned out (click the pic below to actually see it animated). Reid Southen contributed the original painting which you can see in all its unanimated glory here. Also I’m trying to get him to teach a Photoshop lesson for CartoonSmart, so if anyone wants to cajole him a little, please do. You can find him on DeviantArt or his more official looking site here,

And for those curious, this new animation lesson will be for CS4, CS3, and those die hard purists still using Flash 8.

5 thoughts on “Animated Stills Tutorial Preview

  1. I have to admit, when I first saw the still image above I was thinking it was going to be one of those cheesy animated waterfall pictures. Almost like those ones you hang on your wall that you can find in kiosks at shopping malls around the country. But I have to say, the finished piece is very well done, very impressive. Be nice to have as a screensaver or as a background of a web page.

  2. Thanks Greg. One of those cheesy animated waterfall pictures in the mall did make me feel like I could tackle this though. If they could do it, so could I.

    …or maybe I saw it in a bar.

Leave a Reply

