And I’m back!!

Actually I haven’t been anywhere, but I did forget to post anything here on the blog. Oops. Well whats new??? I’ve got a new Brian Z tutorial to release very soon. And in my Holiday relaxation time, I’ve been tinkering a bit more with Box2D, and a heck, I’ll admit I’ve been more than tinkering. I put together a free block stacking game. Its in the mighty hands of App store reviewers now, but if you guys wanna looksie, you can click below. I won’t say this is a drinking game, because I shouldn’t encourage such behavior, buuuuut in college I used to play an actual block stacking game called Super BlockHead (you stack blocks till they fall) and a fun add on rule to that game is if you knock over the stack, guess what, take a drink. I can only imagine how fun it would have been if I had any friends to play it with me.  (kidding, I had one or two friends =)

Anyway, the Box2D template gave me the idea to revive the ancient art of block stacking, so I gave it a ninja twist with some different pieces. And the rest of the code, like occassionally switching the pieces to dynamic or static, I’ve already taught in Session 4 of my iOS course. Just sayin’ is all. =)

And yes, this is what I do in my free time. Amuse myself with games only I would play. But if I were born in a different time, I’d probably be painstakingly painting miniature pieces for a train set that goes around a little village in my basement. Which gives me an idea for a new app actually… hmmmm… Train Stacker.

Available NOW!

4 thoughts on “And I’m back!!

  1. I don’t show this game in the tutorial, but the example project in parts 1 and 2 of session 4 build something similar and use a lot of the same code.

  2. Fawster says:

    Looks great!

    What kind of asset creation pipeline do you use for the graphics? Flash, Illustrator, Photoshop or some combination?

    Does the iOS course cover any asset creation stuff or is it all programming-related?

Leave a Reply

